Not That Anybody Cares About Charlie Sheen Anymore, But…

28 Apr

http://www.thedailybeast.com/blogs-and-stories/2011-03-12/bret-easton-ellis-how-charlie-sheen-is-giving-us-what-we-want/

4 Responses to “Not That Anybody Cares About Charlie Sheen Anymore, But…”

  1. octobear May 2, 2011 at 4:20 pm #

    A good piece. I think the ‘post-empire’ celebrity is the future, wild as sheen or self-referential as gervais. still, you wonder what it means that this sort of behavior can exist like it does even in broad daylight. i’m all for freedom of expression until it involves bullets and myself. also, what’s up Grayson?

    • sonofgray May 2, 2011 at 6:24 pm #

      A lot of movie watching. Aside from that, I got into the Creative Writing major. And I’m considering adding Anthropology as a second major. Also, my dad got reassigned to ACC, so I’ll be in VA sometime this summer.

  2. octobear May 4, 2011 at 1:01 pm #

    Excellent. We will have to catch up. CW it is then, a rough road unless you strike somewhat arbitrary gold but I like it. Taking a few classes myself.

  3. dwhitake May 4, 2011 at 11:48 pm #

    Anthro, it will do you well.

    As per the article, I didn’t really like it. Well at first I did. And then I didn’t. I don’t really see Sheen as a new type of celebrity, at least not relatively new. Obviously he’s not the celebrity of the 50’s, but still, fame based just as much off of outrageousness as achievement isn’t actually a recent development. Even Byron 200 years ago had his celebrity status enhanced by being a controversial figure (I’m pretty sure I didn’t make that up).

    Maybe Sheen is perhaps remarkable in that he’s pushed the boundaries further than others, but since decency is always evolving I’m not sure it’s really all that noteworthy. After all, in a couple of years there will be someone who has surpassed him in shock value.

    Or maybe I totally missed the point the author was trying to make.

Leave a Reply

